sketching, maybe drawing

Kurt, an under grad professor, gave me a love for the sketch, the drawing and the print. He suggested very early on, that I carry with me at all times…small ripped paper and a pencil. If  time allows, he said, maybe while I wait for an appointment, maybe while I watch the tube, draw. Just draw, he said.

I do.

Sometimes the sketch becomes itself a small completed piece. Other times, it leads to something new: a mark, a shape, a color, a background, a new print.

These images below, finished, are small 3 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ drawings and parts of them feed into some new large work, on canvas.

Stay realistic? Go abstract?  Both.

Small ripped BFK paper, gesso, graphite, Prisma, casein. Blending stumps are at the college. I smudge with a small, stiff, used up brush instead. Rough but interesting background finish.

I’m framing a few and they’ll show as process in  What Goes On and What Takes Place.

Leave a Reply

