el último dibujo en una serie de cuatro

“I stand in awe of my body.”  Henry David Thoreau


This is the last collage in a series of four.

A collage (From the French: coller, to glue): is a work of formal art, primarily in the visual arts, made from an assemblage of different forms, thus creating a new whole.

To create this new whole I choose from: a hand, feet, liver-stomach-gallbladder-spleen, bladder-uterus-fallopian tubes-ovaries, large brain, large inner ear-and drum, ovary, heart, nose, small brain, taste bud, eyeball-tear gland-tear duct-middle ear, palm, male pelvis, testis, rib cage-shoulder blades, and kidneys. I’ve drawn all these great shapes and then some, in the last few months.

I love the color of this one eyeball ↑, and I am still so drawn to the intricacy and shape of the ← inner ear.  Shapes and colors work well together.  And I want the hand ↓, it’s the outline of mine, with lots of added detail (for the sake of depth and color). With these decisions, I pick out the heart and nose and I go back to the first grouping of the six senses. Same idea, different configuration.  Seems like a good way to close the series.

I have enjoyed the labor of making these small intricate works. Such orchestrated structure, how can any of it possibly be random? How can the wonderful inner ear with its spiral shape, loops, and drum be random?  Now I have to go finish the life size figure.  I have a feeling these little works will influence change in that. I have to the end of the summer to complete it, so that’s okay. You’ll see all the finished work in September, at TCA.

So…
I liked the work very much. I loved the study of the body. But like I said before, it brings me right back to spirit. I wonder if you see it. A measure of life is present here and now. It’s the Vital part, in A Constant Vital Commotion.

One thought on “el último dibujo en una serie de cuatro

Leave a Reply

