the deep, innate intelligence of the body, can it really be rendered? plenty of others have tried.

I’m being facetious with that title.  I don’t know what I’m doing. Speaking of being and doing….

I’m working out a life-size male figure, with a life-size feline at his feet.  They stand in front of a large round form that symbolizes, at least for now, the earth.  The composition is 8 ft. It’s bigger than I have ever worked. I’m caught up in small areas of the body and not moving…much. Not much. Not much is happening….looking and drawing and bringing in colors and shapes so the image can… maybe … percolate.

Actually what is happening is that I’m reading New Self, New World.  In it author Philip Shepherd writes about how we come into our true humanity only when we unite with our core, the deep, innate intelligence of our body.  Shepherd demonstrates concepts of the masculine and feminine energies: transcendence and immanence, body and soul, doing and being. He reminds us of myths that connect humankind with the living world, and foster a sensitivity to it. These would not be our contemporary myths. He discusses his quest for wholeness… that is to feel the world, as a whole, and the self as a whole within it…  

I don’t know if the work on paper will amount to anything. It could be that I go back to working small.  I will complete the drawing. Whatever unfolds as I move along, very slowly and organically, is what unfolds.  I go from the wall to my table, from my table back to the wall.  Sure hope I don’t rip the paper.

One thought on “the deep, innate intelligence of the body, can it really be rendered? plenty of others have tried.

  1. I like the details, so don’t move too fast. Every time I look at your work I think, “she paid more attention in life drawing than I did.”

Leave a Reply

