“nothing is in stasis”

 The task of the right eye is to peer into the telescope,
while the left eye peers into the microscope.

Leonora Carrington, Down Below


Debra l. Hopkins, Curator of Exhibitions at the Scottsdale Center for the Arts back in 1998, wrote about my first solo élan vital

Nothing is in stasis; Martinez is the magician/alchemist striving to distill impurities and transmute her subjects into gold, creating alternate worlds of cosmic scope and microscopic intimacy.”

I’ve always appreciated her descriptive words. I remember the first part of that sentence almost every time I come to my drawing table, nothing is in stasis.

In some ways, nothing has changed…and then of course, it all has.

I believe I’m complete with this new drawing.

2 thoughts on ““nothing is in stasis”

  1. Pingback: drawing in – drawing out, all in a day’s practice | Monica Aissa Martinez

Leave a Reply

