braincase – nothing in stasis

Brain: an apparatus with which we think we think. – Ambrose Bierce


I finished the back body with the great spinal column as focal point, it seems only natural that I move up into the brain.
This is a small 13″ x 13″ casein on canvas.

The detailed eye-ball in the upper left hand corner represents subtle vision, and the inner ear in the lower right hand corner represents subtle hearing.

I love the word Braincase. It’s exactly what it sounds like, the cranium enclosing the brain.

The video shows the layering process.
Note: I’ve used the same series of sounds in all the videos to this series of work. It’s created by artist and musician Joe Willie Smith and me.

Today I read about Chinese medical classics which note, All of marrow belongs to the brain. I’ll take the thought into future works.

Leave a Reply

