no woman is an island…contd.

The rhythm of the body
the melody of the mind
& the harmony of the soul
create the symphony of life – B.K.S. Iyengar


Maybe this post is about new work. Maybe it’s about life.

I started a new painting last week – a 92″ x 67″ canvas. That’s a lot of surface for me to deal with. I like the physical challenge of working that big. Preparing the canvas is a whole day in the studio. My arms and hands store the experience for a few days.

I photograph parts of the composition, and put them together in Photoshop.The studies look simple but each area is taking a full day. I am being as accurate with the details as possible. The colors reference types of energy.

IMG_3773I draw myself in handstand, one leg firm, the other slightly organic. This is one way to understand what I have to do with my alignment to hold balance.

IMG_3779

Working on upside down, reversed anatomy is complicated to say the least. I  get my bearings, and then flip them. Gravity plays out differently in the muscles. Hands become like feet and arms become like legs – press down to rise. The cat comes around out of curiosity, I capture her in a few photos and so she appears in the painting. I’ll work her anatomy out next.

IMG_3787

Clearly one can’t do this without support. Though well grounded and standing firm – no woman is an island.

On a connected note…
I sold You Are Here, A Map of Phoenix. It’s a turning point work that leads directly to what I am doing now: large, intensely detailed mapping of information.

We deliver and hang it this morning and then spend the afternoon hiking South Mountain. BTW, South Mountain lies to the bottom and off to the right, in the map below.

phoenix map

Thanks Greg and Veronica. Enjoy and use the Map of Phoenix, if you like.  It’s accurately abstracted.

2 thoughts on “no woman is an island…contd.

Leave a Reply

