one more way to study human anatomy

In vain we shall penetrate more and more deeply the secrets of the structure of the human body, we shall not dupe nature; we shall die as usual. ~Bernard Le Bovier de Fontanelle


It was probably only a matter of time before I painted a mannikin.

IMG_4709

I was at the TCA last month and gallery director Michelle Dock had a number of the wooden mannikins laying on a work table. What to do with all these mannikins, she says. Hand them to artists to paint, I say, meaning – give one to me, I want to paint it.

IMG_4712

The mannikin is now a 3-dimensional anatomy study. I take space into consideration and place her on a structure that represents the city. Initially I think I’ll focus on the immune system. I liked the idea of accentuating the points and moving lines of the lymphatic system and connecting them to the map. My fine 00 brushes are too wide, so I buy paint markers for more control. I can’t say I like using them, they’re opaque. But after some time I layer them with gesso and casein. And finally depth takes hold. It’s more than the lymphatic system at this point.

If this works out – she’ll show in December at TCA along with other experiments of the summer (animal anatomy studies).

IMG_4714

too dark

After days of not liking what was happening and leaving my drawing table frustrated, today I like with where things stand.

IMG_4719

Leave a Reply

