foundation

Drawing is the discipline by which I constantly rediscover the world. I have learned that what I have not drawn, I have never really seen, and that when I start drawing an ordinary thing, I realize how extraordinary it is, a sheer miracle.”     Frederick Franck – The Zen of Seeing


IMG_5358

I bought a full size human skeleton last month. I am compelled to return to basics. I take the hand and lower arm bones off and bring them to my desk so I can really look at them. The finger bones are the phalanges, I’m sure I’ve mentioned that’s one of my favorite words. The long arm bones you see here are the ulna and radius. The hand also includes bones called metacarpals (palm of the hand) and carpals (wrist).

I’ve never used vellum so I  decide to work with it. I bring out graphite and color pencils. The vellum takes all my erasing. I like a smooth surface that takes a pencil mark well.

 IMG_5359

The bones – we feel them but they are hidden from our eyes – I consider this as I draw. I’m not complete with this study, I’ll continue another day.

IMG_5360

I’ve focused on and painted complex anatomy for a few years now. I still get excited about coming back to and drawing simple foundation. I still love a pencil. And vellum – I’m not sure I can get a smoother surface than that – is a fine choice.

In January I’ll facilitate a workshop for art students. I’ve been asked to focus on human anatomy. Maybe this will lead to the lesson plan for that.

Leave a Reply

