in the studio – a practice

Studio – derives from the Italian: studio,
from Latin: studium, from studere,
meaning to study or zeal, 
Practice – repeated performance of an activity in order to learn or perfect a skill.

My drawings, paintings and prints will be on display at Desert Song Healing Arts Center for the months of February and March. I will organize newer work and include a few pieces from  a number of series I completed in the last decade – after my Yoga Teacher’s Training at Desert Song.

MartinezFrontFB

WHO: Desert Song Healing Arts Center
WHAT: In Studio – A Practice
Drawings Paints and Prints by Monica Aissa Martinez
WHERE: 3232 North 20th Street
WHEN: February 1st, 2014

During the run of the exhibit, on Sunday February 16th from 1-3 will be an
Art, Music and Yoga community event. Yoga instructor Meg Byerlein will lead the practice as we listen to live sounds from musician Mary Petrich (and friends). Save the date.

DS_1Logo_COLORrp_Vert

Desert Song Healing Arts Center has been in business for 30 years. I’ve known Mary Beth Marcus since the late 90’s when I began studying yoga. In 2003 I completed my Yoga Teacher’s Training with her.

I learned many things during that intense time. Including that I could complete 21 Sun Salutations in the morning and/or in the evening, at a moments call. I’m kidding about that –  sort of.

We studied the history and philosophy of Yoga. I loved learning each of the 8 limbs. You’ll certainly see the influence in my work. I also learned about taking the Teacher’s Seat. I know this framework prepared me for what I do now – teach drawing at Phoenix College. It still provides me with guide lines as I continue setting up a classroom each semester.

Mary Beth has a new studio and a new location. The grounds are beautiful. Join them on Facebook or visit the Desert Song website.

404551_598819810135783_1419298178_n

Note: February’s theme is the Heart and March is Community …. they work for me.

Leave a Reply

