sheep count

Drawing is the discipline by which I constantly rediscover the world. I have learned that what I have not drawn, I have never really seen, and that when I start drawing an ordinary thing, I realize how extraordinary it is, a sheer miracle.”     Frederick Franck – The Zen of Seeing


I’d gotten back to human body studies when artist Aimee León invited me to participate in her project, Into The Fold. I found the subject of sheep, and her intent to remind and reintroduce them to us – moving. So I take one more break from the human body to consider sheep, in particular, a ewe and her lamb (in utero).

Sheep are quadrupedal, ruminant mammals. Like all ruminants, sheep are members of the order Artiodactyla, the even-toed ungulates. A male sheep is called a ram and a female sheep is called a ewe, their small offspring is the lamb. I could tell you about their senses because I find the information fascinating. Aimee’s final project will include essays, poetry, 2D art, music, theory, philosophy, scientific writings and children’s work – so we can wait for that to learn more.

I know right away how I will approach the subject. Here are progression shots. If I didn’t have this record, I wouldn’t remember the layers that form the final composition. Time is key to my anatomy studies, so I never wait long to get going.

Locate Aimee’s project link at the bottom of this post.

IMG_5532 IMG_5533  I like this stage below best. But once it’s gone, I can’t bring it back. IMG_5534I wanted (bone) structure. Why didn’t I lay it in first?
IMG_5535

IMG_5536

Of course, I wanted marks based on the sheep’s hair. IMG_5538  I like this stage below, it glows. I want more depth.IMG_5542Too much. Everything flattens. Though It does take on a weaving quality I enjoy.IMG_5543

IMG_5555 IMG_5565

IMG_5568

I take it back and forth a few times. I varnish and brighten when complete.

IMG_5567

Ewe and Her Lamb
MM on canvas
18″ x 26″

Though I never planned to exhibit the work, an opportunity arrives. I’ll show the Study of a Ewe and Her Lamb, and a few other small animal studies, next month at the Frontal Lobe Gallery and Community Space.

Did I mention Aimee León is a trained Sheep Shearer? Do take a look at Aimee’s project site, Into the Fold, the photos are spectacular.

Leave a Reply

