days in the studio


s1

Days in the studio …

This last weekend while I prepared a 72″ x 44″ paper,  New York Times photographer Ruth Fremson looked on. She took studio shots as I worked the surface.

The next day I spent carefully setting a contour study into the picture plane. The subject is my niece Sara. I don’t have children. I’m not used to looking closely at a younger generation and seeing anything so like mine. Today in my niece’s feet, I recognize my toes.

IMG_5579

One thought on “days in the studio

  1. Pingback: arms akimbo | Monica Aissa Martinez

Leave a Reply

