no woman is an island

Adopt the pace of nature: her secret is patience.
Ralph Waldo Emerson


… It MUST be MINE. Let’s talk before you even think of selling it to anybody else… I am calling dibs!

Oh oh.

I tell Dominique the work sells shortly after I post it. This is the truth. I don’t say it was to David, her husband.

snail

I paint the snail for an invitational art exhibit last August (2014). I deliver the small mixed media painting on panel, to the gallery. The next day I post the image into my blog. David contacts me right away.

This has Dominique written all over it! He purchases the work and asks me to hold on to it.

The coming Friday I arrive to the opening with a new artwork in tow. I take this one off the wall and replace it with another small animal study.

Last month David invites a few friends to dinner, including my husband and I. He asks that I wrap the gift in butcher paper and bring it along. I don’t know of his plans to hang it on the wall and tell Dominique it will hang there till her birthday a good month away.

I don’t know Dominique to be patient. She insists she knows what it is. Dave doesn’t react. Me – I think about time crawling at a snail’s pace (wie eine Schnecke kriechen)!

10394010_10153052616043104_893122554079307487_n

From fib to February – fun. Happy Birthday to you Dominique! David, you’re a good man.

IMG_7274

Schnecke

Thank you!
And, I appreciate the drawing on the envelope too.


The blog posts titled No Woman is an Island acknowledge the people and/or organizations who support me and the work I do.

Leave a Reply

