hand and arm, palmer view – an homage

IMG_7485

My hands hurt. Clearer yet, my fingers ache. It’s not the joints though.

I began this life-size hand and arm last week. I set it from the ground up – bones, muscles, tendons, veins, nerves – studying each layer as it goes over another. I prepare the background so as to imply fascia. It’s far from complete.

I paint in egg tempera which I’ve not used in a good while. The size of the composition and the pace I move at work with the material of choice.

I can’t help but be amazed by the structure of our body. The hand is complex and so perfectly set up to allow us to do the many things we do with it. I have a hard time believing it’s all random. As I study – I do wonder who designed the spectacular object.

I lost track of time and painted 5 hours steady yesterday – could be why my hands hurt.

Leave a Reply

