no woman is an island

Interested in a small animal study he’s seen on the internet, Judson arranges to visit my studio this a.m.  He’s come to pick up a particular one. As he moves through the space he quickly changes his mind and consequently will leave with 2 others. I am always surprised by people who can do this – make quick decisions of this sort. I admire the skill.

We spend time talking and I learn he’s passionate about art. He’s visited many artist spaces. I first connect with Judson back in March at the Feminism Today exhibit in the monOrchid. I enjoy finally meeting and chatting with him.

Here are the artworks he takes with him today –

creativeiamblog Above is the mixed media (casein and egg tempera) on paper titled Creative I am.  It is the  anatomy study that eventually leads to my current series Nothing In Stasis. And below is another mixed media (casein) painting on canvas titled Taking a Stand from an earlier series called Mental Concoctions. Both are now at his framer!

Thank you again, Judson.

herenowstandup


The blog posts titled No Woman is an Island acknowledge the people and/or organizations who support me and the work I do. Here is a video made a few years back by Brian McHugh and MojoVideoProduction. Not only does it show some of the series of the latter painting in this post, and the ideas behind the work – it also shows my studio a few years back. It’s a completely different environment now!

Phoenix Artist Monica Aissa Martinez from Brian McHugh on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

