cell study and the mitochondria

One source informs me there are over 10 trillion cells in the human body, another says 34 trillion. Discovered by Robert Hooke in 1665, I like that he thought it resembled cells inhabited by Christian monks in a monastery. It brings a little of the sacred into the picture. 34 trillion sacred cells!

I mapped out a living cell a few years ago. And after all I have learned, I return to basics (with new eyes) determined not to place anything into my composition until I have a better grasp of what it does. Slow  -S-L-O-W-  going this week.

IMG_7759

The large circular form ↑ is the Nucleus. The word is Latin in origin and means kernel. It controls cell function. The nucleus holds the DNA.  What I learn about the Nucleolus (dense [purple] area in nucleus) and the Endoplasmic Reticulum (greenish areas) makes me want to ingest high-quality protein as often as possible.

And then there is the Mitochondria ↓ which comes from the Greek,  mitos meaning thread and chondrion meaning granule or grain-like.  They are part of our body’s microcircuitry.  Think power-house. The mitochondria make the physical energy of our cells AND they form subtle energies that connect to meridians. It’s this latter find that causes me to isolate it here.

IMG_7762I heard someone say yesterday that artists don’t present answers, they present questions. I have so many….

2 thoughts on “cell study and the mitochondria

  1. Did you know that the mitochondria have their own DNA, and that it is passed only from mother to child (no recommbination with paterrnal DNA, as with mendelian inheritance), thus establishing a maternal line of DNA?

  2. I had the thought this morning that I should ask YOU about the mitochondria.
    I did not know they had their own DNA! I will note and research. Thank you Dominique.

Leave a Reply

