appeasing the ant

The goal: to paint something on a valley metro pass – a 3 3/8″ x 2 1/8″ area. That’s small.  It feels natural to paint an insect on it. And since my house was overrun by ants this summer – ant it is.  I hope to appease them. Also, consider ants and how they manuever – in cooperation. Sort of like a public transportation system. Okay, that’s stretching it.

Here is my very small, yet much, very much bigger than life-size study of an ant and its anatomy.

IMG_7860 2

And while I’m at it …
This week I play with Photoshop. I only use the software for photography enhancing not distorting. The completed painting is above ↑. The image below I take through a filter↓.  It gives the composition a fiery quality I like. I won’t do anything with the image below, I’m only playing with it.

Now I am thinking of Panamanian Mola’s …

IMG_7860

Look for the Mesa Contemporary Arts Benefit Sow (October 6 – 15). All works will be $50. Proceeds to support Mesa Contemporary Arts Museum exhibition and educational programs.  More info → 10×10 Takes-A-Ride

2 thoughts on “appeasing the ant

  1. Thanks Daniel. I only made the comment because I thought of it after the fact, as I was writing.
    Maybe it was subconscious. It still counts!

Leave a Reply

