“in pursuit of your humans”

I think about Wade as I pull this drawing out of storage…

IMG_8247

In February, 2014 – I received a few emails and a phone call from a gentleman whom I believe said he was from Louisiana. Wade had seen the New York Times article announcing the State of the Art exhibition at Crystal Bridges. He read about my studio visit and work. He was planning a one day trip to Phoenix, and wanted to see pieces…gallery…ect. 

I was teaching the day he was scheduled to visit and could not meet with him. He managed to locate two spaces where my work was hanging. I spoke to both owners of those facilities and before the day was out I had the opportunity to talk with him on the phone. I remember Wade because his reaction was sincere and his words were kind and generous. He was excited about my work and the attention it was receiving. I especially liked that he referred to my anatomy studies as ‘your humans’.

Wade asked me to stay in touch. I received lots of emails from across the country, because of that article. This last July (2015) I received an email from Wade. He was in Phoenix again and dropped me a note to tell me he was thinking about my art and hoped that I was doing well.

…about my humans
They have made their way to Los Angeles for a month showing at LA ARTCORE Brewery Annex.

Martinez_A Self Portrait
BodyMale3

I have about 8 full size studies now – and counting. I hope to find an exhibition space that will show all of them together as one installation. I may complete 2 more to set up what I might refer to as generational mapping: four generations that includes these two drawings, my parents, a niece and nephew and 2 smaller ones, representing the generation after that.

Connections to the Natural World opens today – my humans are showing
along with the work of six other AZ artists.

LA ARTCORE Brewery Annex, Lincoln Heights 650 A South Avenue 21, Los Angeles, CA 90031
Reception and Artist Talks, Sunday, Jan 10, 2016, 1-3 p.m.
Exhibition Dates: Jan 2nd-Jan 30th. Hours Wed-Sun 12-5 pm

See you in LA!

874_10208352934531534_6598905806280730967_n

More:
Saatchi Global Gallery Guide
LAist

And as for State of the Art, it will be traveling : artdaily.org

4 thoughts on ““in pursuit of your humans”

  1. Hello Monica, im Perla Jimenez. I dont speak english, but i want to expres that your work of art really like me. I think that is basic your discurse. First the body human in the proof of the intimate experience. And presentacion form its very interesting . Congratulations and Happy new year¡

    Date: Sat, 2 Jan 2016 15:51:02 +0000 To: pipejimenez@hotmail.com

  2. I’d like to see the whole world painted in your human maps inside and out (as murals…) and then surrounded by the natural world and gardens… these are sooooo beautiful. Wish I could visit L.A.! Best of luck for your show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

