a colored body

Chromosome – from the Greek, chroma is color and soma is body. A colored body!! I’ve wanted to draw a chromosome for some time. This one is my first, it won’t be my last.

IMG_9009

Chromosome

Chromosomes are tiny, thread like structures located inside cells (in the nucleus) made from DNA, RNA and protein. The stuff inside your chromosomes (that DNA) instruct a cell in how to function and replicate. Every form of life has its own unique set of instructions. Your chromosomes determined your eye color, your height and whether you are a male or female. Humans have 23 pairs of chromosomes for a total of 46. Twenty-three come from mom, twenty-three come from dad. Oh – and a horse has 64 while a fruit fly has about 8. Plants have chromosomes too.

I understand some chromosomes are longer than others because they contain more DNA, Humans have about 30,000 genes in their 46 chromosomes.

IMG_9012

Telomere

See the yellow area at the end of each arm of the chromosome ↑, that’s a telomere. Telos is Greek for end,  and meros means part. They sort of keep the form from unravelling (like the plastic tip at the end of a shoelace). As we age, our telomeres become shorter. Naturally I wonder if we can grow our telomeres. One thing leads to another and before you know it I arrive at stem cells. And while I thought I understood what a stem cell was, I really didn’t. I won’t get into it now, but that stem cell research thing…incredible!
(go here for more → Doris Taylor – Stem Cells, Untold Stories)

IMG_9010

Stem cells

Ok, I need to stay focused but suffice it to say the beginnings of life are awesome. I don’t use that word lightly . One thing leads to another, and then another, and here You are and here I am.

I can’t help but believe if we could slow down and peek into the wonders of life each and every day (Could you? Would you? In any form you wish.) would this be a different world? It feels crazy out there but know, at your core, you are amazing!

IMG_9013

 

Leave a Reply

