about the line – inner and outer contour study

IMG_7193

New semester. New group.  After the first day of drawing, one student notes the work is like meditating. It is, I respond. I organize my drawing class like I might organize a Yoga class, it’s an excellent observation.

I really, really want to get this, another student tells me. You will, have patience. But I want to get it now! I have to smile – You’re ambitious, I say.

A returning student tells me quietly, I am so glad to be back in your class. Life is so busy, I just want to slow down. Welcome back, you know you’re in the right place then Cassidy.

It takes this group 2 days (6 hours) to complete this first assignments in careful and slow observation of a complex – natural object. They are nervous to start working with marker As they get going, they do just fine.

Below are some examples of their completed drawing. A few of these students have never drawn before and a few are experienced. I won’t say who is who. I suspect it will be a very good semester.

Drawing 1↓

IMG_7187

Heather’s Pinecone

IMG_7189

Terry’s Bell Pepper

IMG_7191

Cory’s Citrus

IMG_7186

Julio’s Onion

IMG_7192

Andrea’s Citrus


Drawing 2 ↓

IMG_7188

Robert’s Pinecone

 

IMG_7185

Cassidy’s detail drawing of a Magnolia Seed Pod

IMG_7190

Charles’ Stem and Seeds

 

Leave a Reply

